Rajavi welcomed decision by some countries to join European Union declaration

Mr. Massoud Rajavi, President of the National Council of Resistance of Iran, welcomed the decision of the governments of Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Iceland, Lithuania, Latvia, Norway, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia, to join the declaration yesterday by the European Union against the religious, terrorist dictatorship ruling Iran. Mr. Rajavi called this a necessary step in confronting the mullahs' unbridled terrorism and the blatant and continued violations of human rights in Iran.

The NCR President asked other countries to respond positively to the EU declaration and do not allow Iran's ruling theocracy to continue its crimes with impunity.

The European Union announced yesterday that "there is no basis for the continuation of the Critical Dialogue" with the regime ruling Iran, suspended all official ministerial visits, confirmed the policy of not supplying arms to Iran, and decided to deny visas to the intelligence and security agents of the regime and exclude its intelligence personnel from European Union Member States.

Mr. Rajavi said these decisions and emphases by the European Union on the clerical regime's "commitments under international agreements, including those concerning the non-proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, as well as those concerning human rights," ought to be reaffirmed by other countries of the world against the medieval regime ruling Iran.

The NCR President demanded that the regime's embassies and terrorist centers be closed, all ties with Khomeini's anti-human regime be severed, and its leaders be put on trial for their terrorist crimes especially in the European capitals.

Secretariat of the National Council of Resistance of Iran - Paris
April 30, 1997

Back Home